Bug Severity Guide

I have noticed some trends in how the “severity” field in Gnome’s Bugzilla is being
used at the initial bug reporting time. Basically, “enhancement” is being used mostly right (although it has little to do with severity) and the others can be interpreted
in the following way:

Blocker: It happened to me.

Critical: I do not know how I can go on living if
you do not drop everything in your hands and fix the cosmetic problem
I believe I am seeing. Right now.

Major: This might become a problem for me
at some point in the future.

Normal: I did not see the option when I filed the bug.

Minor: Rarely used.

Trivial: I saw it happen to someone else.

Now, if someone could please tell me why we let non-maintainers
set the “priority” field…