Release wrangler

Henry the WranglerI’ve written a basic release script for Metacity following the standard release instructions, since I have to go through them every week or so anyway and I thought it would be better to automate them. Of course, it took about five times longer to write the script than to do a release, but I look on it as an investment.

If you want to use it yourself, it will probably not work for you straight away; I’d appreciate help generalising it if you’re interested, though. There is an lgo page about it.

(Later, Josh suggested that it might be similar or mergeable with ShipIt, which I haven’t looked at yet.)

One question I’m wondering about: a “point release” is when you go from, say, 3.1.x to 3.2.0, right? So what do you call it when you increment the micro version number, say from 3.1.4 to 3.1.5? Is there a special name for that?

2.21.8 is out

Thanks to Paolo Borelli, Iain Holmes, Havoc Pennington, Christian Persch, Thomas Thurman, and Alex R.M. Turner for improvements in this version.

– Windows on other workspaces which need attention appear in the alt-tab list too (Alex ) (GNOME bug 333548)
– Remove deprecated function call (Christian ) (GNOME bug 512561)
– New release script (Thomas)
– Made a start at improving the general number of comments (Thomas)
– Updated copyright year to 2008, and some other tiny fixes (Thomas)
– Don’t do anything unusual when the compositor frees a window (Iain)
– Mapping windows doesn’t mark them as damaged (Iain)
– Compositor uses the overlay window and not the root window (Iain)
– Fixed several list leaks (Paolo)
– Fixed warnings about printf formats (Havoc)
– Move source files into subdirectories of the src directory (Havoc)

Translations: Khaled Hosny (ar), Ihar Hrachyshka (be@latin), Petr Kovar (cs), Andre Klapper (de), Jorge González (es), Iñaki Larrañaga Murgoitio (eu), Seán de Búrca (ga), Yuval Tanny (he), Luca Ferretti (it), Takeshi AIHANA (ja), Arangel Angov (mk), sandeep shedmake (mr), Kjartan Maraas (nb), Yannig Marchegay (Kokoyaya) (oc), Daniel Nylander (sv), Theppitak Karoonboonyanan (th), Baris Cicek (tr), Clytie Siddall (vi)

Source code here.

485e9f160764f029d1b3bd82066ee495 metacity-2.21.8.tar.bz2
51bb19c95a489833674f29c9c7f8b3e8 metacity-2.21.8.tar.gz